What I’m Eating: Pasta with Tomato Cream Sauce

I have kind of a problem with pasta sauces. I never seem to have enough tomato-based sauce, because it all just slides off the pasta and I have half of it left on my plate when I’m done. Cream sauces are delicious, but often seem too heavy, especially if I have just pasta and a flour-based sauce. I need some contrast in the dish. So when I found a recipe for tomato cream sauce using diced instead of pureed tomatoes, I got excited. And it turned out just as delicious as I’d hoped. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 onion, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 (14.5 ounce) can Italian-style diced tomatoes, undrained
1 tablespoon dried basil leaves
3/4 teaspoon white sugar
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 tablespoon butter

Preparation

In a saucepan, saute onion and garlic in olive oil over medium heat. Add tomatoes, basil, sugar, oregano, salt and pepper. Bring to boil and continue to boil 5 minutes or until most of the liquid evaporates. Remove from heat; stir in whipping cream and butter. Reduce heat and simmer 5 more minutes.

Notes

I combined the sauce with about half a pound of rotini and a small head of steamed broccoli. It was, for me, a nearly perfect sauce-to-substance ratio. The pasta and vegetables were coated in sauce but not swimming in it. The broccoli and diced tomato pieces added a little acidity and freshness. I am quite happy with the way this turned out and will definitely be making it again. Did I mention that it’s also fast and easy to make? Commenters on Allrecipes recommend serving it with grilled chicken or Italian sausage.

My protein for this week was a lentil salad that was not nearly as successful, at least partly because of mistakes I made during preparation, so I will probably try again later to give it a fair chance. My first mistake was not try out the lentil recipe I posted before, but I didn’t end up making it to the farmer’s market and the grocery store tomatoes were just not up to my standards. For years I thought I hated raw tomato, but it turns out what I hate is raw watery, yellowish tomatoes. I need a really good dense roma tomato if I’m going to be eating it raw.

1 Comment »

  1. emmy said

    That sounds nine kinds of yummy.

    And I hear you on the grocery store tomatoes. Bleh. Once you’ve had a really ripe one plucked right from the vine, still warm from the sun, well, nothing else can ever really measure up.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

